Home  



 

National Spiritual Conference and Extraordinary Chapter 2016

The National Fraternity is hosting a National Spiritual Conference and Extraordinary Chapter from October 28 - 30, 2016 at the Centre des Ursulines, Loretteville, QC.

The Spiritual Conference Animator is Fr. Pierre Charland, OFM. The theme of the Spiritual Conference is "Laudato si".


National Chapter

The Secular Franciscan Order of Canada held its National elective Chapter on May 17-20, 2018 at the Centre des Ursulines, Loretteville, QC. During the chapter, the following persons were elected to the National Council and will serve the National Fraternity for the next three years (2018-2021). National Minister Doug Clorey (Nine Mile Creek, PE) Vice-Minister )Francophone) Francoise Malboeuf (Ottawa, ON) Vice-Minister (Anglophone) Marion Clorey (Nine Mile Creek, PE) Secretary Debbie Tessier (Welland, ON) Treasurer Harvey Levesque (Edmundston, NB) Director of Formation Jewel Jasmins (Vancouver, BC) International Councillor Michel David (Ottawa, ON) National Spiritual Assistants, Fr. André Chicoine, OFMCap and Fr. Peter Knaapen OFMConv are also in the National Council.

Talk by Fr. Francis on Franciscan Simplicity given during the Chapter of Elections for the Secular Franciscan Order of Canada.

Transcript of the talk in pdf format

              

 

2015 National Elective Chapter - "Rediscovering the simplicity of St. Francis"

The National Elective Chapter was held in Loretteville, QC, May 14 to 17, 2015.

There were 48 participants in this Chapter, representing all of the regional fraternities of Canada, including the presence of several Spiritual Assistants of the First Order. The two International Visitors were Ana Fruk, ofs, International Councillor from Zagreb, Croatia and Brother Francis Bongajum Dor, OFM Cap, International Spiritual Assistant.

Brother Francis animated the spiritual conference on the theme described above.


Decisions

During the Chapter, two resolutions were presented:

  • The first resolution, proposed to remove the election of the Formation Director, replacing it by a appointed position by the National Council. It was decided to table this proposal so that the National Council could make an analysis of the consequences of such a proposal and come back to the Chapter to make a decision.

  • The second resolution proposed and adopted was that the Chapter approved the transfer or transition from being Incorporated by Letters Patent, under which the national corporation has been since 1990, to our proceeding to submit the new charter documents (articles of continuance etc) to obtain a Certificate of Continuance, as well as create and file by-laws which comply with the Not-For-Profit (NFP) Act, to keep our federal registration and acquired rights. To this resolution is also added approval to modify or amend our National Statutes to reflect these changes, and if need be, to define our organization under the name "The Secular Franciscans of Canada."

Action is being undertaken with Corporations Canada to acquire this recognition as a Not-For-Profit Organization (NFP).


Orientations

At the meetings of the linguistic groups, discussion took place for orientations for the next three years, which are summarized below:

  • The National website have standardized forms on the National Site; models of posters and the logo would help with communications and public relations; site---redesign to make it more attractive; more resources on the website for continuing education;

  • Secular Franciscan Spiritual Assistants: the spiritual assistants of the first Order will present the OFS Spiritual Assistants at a meeting, to allow for better acceptance and integration;

  • Some fraternities need lessons on how to live in fraternity and to discover our Franciscan color;

  • Continue to develop the New Evangelization;

  • For training: keep it simple and enjoyable. We must develop training for our Formation Directors; share resources and communicate more. Use the website for resources; ongoing dialogue.

The International Fraternity (OFS)

Ana Fruk has presented the priorities and orientations of the International Chapter which took place in autumn 2014. You read everything in the minutes of the Chapter that will sent soon to your regions.


The new National Council

You can count on the members of the new National Council to follow up on the work of the previous council and look into the implementation of the orientations and objectives raised by members at the Chapter.

I am very happy, as the new National Minister, relying on a council with great personal values and experiences, to achieve the set objectives.

Peace and Joy
Gilles Métivier ofs, Minister

 

   
[Back to Top]


Site designed, developed and maintained by Zoé Alschuler 
© ofsnational 2003 - 2018. All rights reserved

Home  



 

Conférence spirituelle nationale et Chapitre extraordinaire 2016

La Conférence spirituelle nationale et chapitre extraordinaire se tiendra du 28 au 30 octobre 2016, au Centre des Ursulines, Loretteville (QC).

L'animateur de la conférence spirituelle est Pr. Pierre Charland, OFM, et le thème est Laudato si.


Chapitre national

La Fraternité nationale de l'Ordre Franciscain Séculier du Canada a tenu son chapitre électif national les 17au 20 mai 2018, au Centre de spiritualité des Ursulines, Loretteville, QC. Pendant ce chapitre les personnes suivantes ont été élues au Conseil national et serviront la Fraternité nationale pour les trois prochaines années (2018-2021). Ministre national Doug Clorey (Nine Mile Creek, PE) Vice-Ministre (Francophone) Francoise Malboeuf (Ottawa, ON) Vice-Ministre (Anglophone) Marion Clorey (Nime Mile Creek, PE) Secrétaire Debbie Tessier (Welland, ,ON) Trésorier Harvey Levesque (Edmundston, NB) Responsable de la formation Jewel Jasmins (Vancouver. CB) Conseiller international Michel David (Ottawa, ON) Assistants spirituels nationaux Fr. André Chicoine, ofmCap, Fr. Peter Knaapen, ofmConv font partie du conseil national.

Discours du Père Francis au sujet de la simplicité franciscaine lors du Chapitre des élections de l'Ordre franciscain séculier du Canada.

Discours en version pdf

              

 

Chapitre électif national 2015 - « Redécouvrir la simplicité de saint François »

Le Chapitre électif national a eu lieu à Loretteville, QC, du 14 au 17 mai 2015.

Il y avait 48 participants à ce Chapitre représentant toutes les Fraternités régionales du Canada, incluant la présence de plusieurs Assistants spirituels du 1er Ordre. Les deux visiteurs internationaux étaient Ana Fruk, ofs, Conseillère international, venant de Zagreb Croatie et Frère Francis Bongajum Dor, OFM Cap, Assistant spirituel international.

Le Fr. Francis a animé la conférence spirituelle sur le thème décrit plus haut.


Décisions

Lors du Chapitre, deux propositions ont été déposées :

  • La première suggérant de supprimer le poste électif de Responsable de formation, pour le remplacer par un poste nominatif par le Conseil national. Il fut décidé de reporter à plus tard cette proposition afin que le Conseil national analyse de plus près les conséquences d’une telle proposition et de revenir devant l’Assemblée générale pour prendre une décision.

  • La deuxième résolution proposée et adoptée était que le Chapitre a approuvé le transfert ou la transition d'être constituée par Lettres patentes, en vertu de laquelle la Fraternité nationale a été depuis 1990, à notre procédure de soumettre les nouveaux documents constitutifs (statuts de prorogation, etc) pour obtenir un certificat de prorogation, ainsi que de créer et le fichier des règlements qui sont conformes à la nouvelle Loi (OSBL) Organismes Sans But Lucratif, pour garder notre enregistrement fédéral et nos droits acquis. Par cette résolution est également ajouté l'approbation de modifier ou d'amender nos Statuts nationaux pour refléter ces changements, et le cas échéant, de définir notre organisation sous le nom « Les Franciscains Séculiers du Canada ».

La démarche est en cours auprès de Corporations Canada pour acquérir cette reconnaissance comme un Organisation Sans But Lucratif (OSBL).


Orientations

Lors des rencontres des groupes linguistiques, il y a eu des orientations demandées pour les trois années à venir, dont voici le résumé :

  • Le site-web national: avoir des formes normalisées sur le site du National; modèles d'affiches et le logo qui aiderait aux communications et les relations publiques; refonte du site pour le rendre plus attrayant; plus de ressources sur le site Web pour la formation permanente;

  • Les Assistants spirituels franciscains séculiers: les Assistants spirituels du 1er Ordre devront présentés les assistants spirituels OFS lors d'une réunion, pour permettre une meilleur acceptation et intégration;

  • Certaines fraternités ont besoin d’enseignements sur la façon de vivre dans la fraternité et de découvrir notre couleur franciscaine;

  • Continuer à développer sur la nouvelle évangélisation;

  • Pour la formation : faire simple et agréable. Nous devons développer de la formation pour nos responsables de la formation; partager des ressources et communiquer plus. Utilisez le site Web pour les ressources; dialogue permanent.

La Fraternité internationale (CIOFS)

Ana Fruk nous a présenté les priorités et orientations entendues lors du Chapitre international qui a eu lieu à l’automne 2014. Vous pourrez consulter le tout dans le procès-verbal du Chapitre qui sera diffusé bientôt dans vos régions.


Le nouveau Conseil national

Vous pouvez compter sur les membres de ce nouveau Conseil national qui travaillera dans la suite du fonctionnement des conseils précédant et se pencher sur la réalisation des orientations et objectifs soulevés par les membres au Chapitre.

Je suis très heureux, comme nouveau Ministre national, de compter sur des conseillers ayant de grandes valeurs et expériences personnelles pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.

Paix et Joie
Gilles Métivier ofs, Ministre

 

   
[Haut de la page]



Site conçu, développé et maintenu par Zoé Alschuler 
© ofsnational 2003 - 2018. Tous droits réservés.